top of page
Search
  • prisinha45

Success Story: Abhaya Sundar

From the beginning, we've had members support and stick with us throughout the development of our chapter. We've also gained new members along the way. In order to honor some of these members, this interview will be focusing on Abhaya Sundar. Abhaya joined us towards the middle of our first year, as she was a new student who just moved to our school. Abhaya is now a rising senior opting for a career in STEM when she grows up. Here is how the interview went!


  1. Tell us about yourself (what are some of your hobbies, etc.)

My name is Abhaya Sundar, and I’m going into 12th grade. I like reading, running, playing the violin, and doing taekwondo. At Hall high school, I’m on the cross-country team and track team.

  1. What interests you about coding?

I like how coding allows you to accomplish stuff that is otherwise much slower or even impossible. With coding, there is always a faster route to get a task done, but that route can be made in different ways. It’s also interesting to see how different languages can essentially make the same thing. The freedom coding gives you is what attracts me to it.

  1. What challenges have you faced being a woman in the STEM environment?

I think that the opportunities presented to women in the STEM environment are less than those given to men, but initiatives like SOWcoders have been improving that, and I have done many women-specific STEM programs. A lot of the STEM classes I’ve taken have had more men in them than women, and often I feel misplaced.

  1. Why did you decide to join SOWcoders?

I decided to join SOWcoders because I wanted a safe space where I could be with like-minded people who like coding and STEM. It has always been a comfortable space for me, and I’ve been able to learn some Python, Java, and HTML/CSS.

  1. What do you hope to do with coding in the future? (if you don’t plan on doing coding, how has what you learned in the club helped you?)

I don’t think that I will specifically go into the field of coding or computer science, but I think I will continue to code for fun, and I can imagine that coding will be used in the field I hope to go in (medicine). Coding can apply to any field really, so I can use that as a skill. This club has also helped me foster a supportive environment, and I will make sure to do that wherever I go.

  1. How has joining the Society of Women Coders changed your life and perspective on STEM?

Before SOWCoders, I always felt like an imposter when doing STEM-related activities. However, after joining, I feel like I belong and STEM is made for anyone. I’ve seen that there are girls like me who want to go into STEM fields, and we are all the same.


We thank Abhaya for letting us interview her, and we hope she has a successful future in the medical field :)

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success Story: Sanjana Sitaram

This new school year (2022-2023), we gained some new members of our chapters. We love seeing more and more girls expose themselves to STEM fields and join our club. One of those new members was Sanjan

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page