top of page
Search
  • prisinha45

Success Story: Sanjana Sitaram

This new school year (2022-2023), we gained some new members of our chapters. We love seeing more and more girls expose themselves to STEM fields and join our club. One of those new members was Sanjana Sitaram, a junior opting for a career in STEM when she grows up. Here is how the interview went!


1. Tell us about yourself (what are some of your hobbies, where are you from)


My name is Sanjana, I’m from West Hartford, Connecticut. I have played the violin for 9 years. I love to read, especially historical fiction, science fiction, and occasionally cheesy rom-com romances. I also crochet and learn some python in my free time.


2. What challenges as a woman in STEM and how have you overcome those barriers?


I have noticed that STEM fields can be very close-minded toward females. Particularly, it can be hard to be taken seriously in a class that has been male-dominated for a long time. I take AP STEM courses even if those classes are predominantly male-dominated; and in those classes, it can be hard to gain respect and have your voice heard by your peers. I just try my best to ignore and push through even if it can sometimes be frustrating.


3. How has joined the Society of Women coders changed your life and perspective on STEM?

It has made me more aware of how many women are interested in coding. It's nice to be around those who generally respect women in STEM and coding. It makes me feel like there is a community I can turn to for support and advice.


We're so happy to have Sanjana with us this year, and we hope she has success in her future endeavors!


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success Story: Abhaya Sundar

From the beginning, we've had members support and stick with us throughout the development of our chapter. We've also gained new members along the way. In order to honor some of these members, this in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page