top of page
Search
  • prisinha45

Success Story: Zhumsel Yoezar

Updated: May 14, 2023


Zhumsel Yoezar is a passionate student who took part in our FCWB camp last summer. In an attempt to get to know the girls who participated, we have asked Zhumsel some questions in an interview regarding her experience:


1. Tell us about yourself (what are some of your hobbies, etc.)

Hi I’m Zhumsel. I am a 14 year old Bhutanese American living in New York. Some of my hobbies consist of programming, reading books, and watching tv.

2. What interests you about coding?

Something that interests me about coding is that I get to know and understand the process of making web pages etc.

3. What challenges have you faced being a woman in the STEM environment?

One challenge I faced when I told people I was coding was judgment. A lot of older people in my community had told me that being a coder is a hard thing and they thought I wouldnt “have what it takes” to be successful in that area.

4. Why did you decide to sign up for the FCWB Camp?

I decided to sign up for the FCWB Camp because I was really fascinated by coding, everyone around me had been attending some kind of coding class and when my cousin showed me this program I immediately wanted to sign up and learn about coding.

5. What do you hope to do with coding in the future? (if you don’t plan on doing coding, how has what you learned in the camp helped or will help you?)

I hope to major in computer tech once I go to college, the things I learned in this camp definitely helped me finalize my decision in wanting to go into the IT field because of how fun it was to create websites.

6. What impact has the FCWB team had on you or inspired you to do?

The FCWB has helped me decide that coding is something I would like to do in the future.

7. How has participating in the FCWB camp changed your life and perspective on STEM?

Participating in this program changed my life because I discovered how fun coding was, and it changed my perspective on STEM in such a positive way because I used to think it was boring, but now it’s one of the things I like to do for fun.

8. What is one takeaway you have from this camp?

One takeaway I have from this camp is being able to learn how to make websites.


Thank you Zhumsel for participating in our camp! You are truly an inspiration and we wish you the best of luck in the future!



82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success Story: Abhaya Sundar

From the beginning, we've had members support and stick with us throughout the development of our chapter. We've also gained new members along the way. In order to honor some of these members, this in

Success Story: Sanjana Sitaram

This new school year (2022-2023), we gained some new members of our chapters. We love seeing more and more girls expose themselves to STEM fields and join our club. One of those new members was Sanjan

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page