top of page
Search
  • prisinha45

Success story: Jules Savo

As a continued effort to get to better know some young women interested in coding and share some of our success stories, we interviewed Jules Savo. Jules is a junior at Hall High School and the social media manager for SOWcoders. Here is how the interview went:


Q: Tell us about yourself (what are some of your hobbies, etc.)

A: My name is Julia Savo, but most people call me Jules! I’m fifteen years old and a sophomore at Hall High School. I’m very involved in the performing arts, specifically theatre and choir. I also play the guitar and enjoy writing. Recently, I’ve developed a larger interest in computer science because of SOWCoders!


Q: What interests you about coding?

A: I really like the strategic nature of coding; it’s satisfying when all you have to do is type in commands and all of a sudden you’ve created something just from a bunch of words strung together. There’s a routine to it, yet also always something new to discover, and that intrigues me a lot.


Q: What challenges have you faced due to your gender and sexuality (if comfortable, list what you identify as) in the STEM environment? What biases do you notice in these environments?

A: I’ve noticed that there’s a lot of doubt when it comes to women in STEM environments. In math and science classes, I’ve felt as if others have chosen to ask questions to the boys rather than the girls. It feels like they don’t believe we have as much credibility or knowledge. There are some very clear biases that have been perpetrated by our society for years now. I’m also a lesbian, and though I personally haven’t faced challenges due to this, I know that the LGBTQ+ community has historically been overlooked in areas such as STEM.


Q: Why did you decide to join SOWcoders?

A: Part of the reason why I joined SOWCoders was that I felt as if my friends who were running the club deserved support and could be a success. However, I also joined because I haven’t had many opportunities to try coding and get involved in computer science, due to the fact that I’ve been much more involved in other areas for the past couple of years. I wanted to get the chance to try something new and learn more about coding to see if I would be interested in it in the future.


Q: What do you hope to do with coding in the future? (if you don’t plan on doing coding, how has what you learned in the club helped you?)

A: While I don’t think I’m going to go into a career or major that involves coding, this is a skill that I would like to continue to utilize. I think it’s something that can be used in basically any field, as technology is constantly evolving and practically every field has some digital aspect to it. I could take my coding skills to the theatre world, or music, or social media!


Q: How has joining the Society of Women coders changed your life and perspective on STEM?

A: I’ve learned so much about gender bias in the STEM field ever since joining SOWCoders. We are taught about various women who were overlooked despite making huge advancements for technology and science. I have a deeper appreciation for coding and feel as if I can now recognize examples of bias in STEM, as well as hopefully try to combat them and help to improve gender equality.


Q: How has being a social media manager for SOWcoders changed your perspective on coding?

A: One of the main things I’ve noticed through taking pictures is simply seeing how happy coding makes people. We have fun in SOWCoders, but we also get work done and learn so many new things. I’ve also noticed how important it is to publicize and get the word out about STEM opportunities. I’ve learned how to market well and get people’s attention, as well as just make some really cool posts for the page. I’m proud of the work I’ve done, and it’s definitely changed my perspective on how important coding is to many people.


Q: What do you hope for the future in STEM?

A: I hope that young girls can realize that STEM is for everyone. Whether you like math, reading, playing video games, or singing, you can get involved in STEM. Our world has grown so much from years ago, and there are so many chances to implement new growth in whatever you’re interested in. And don’t let anyone hold you back! There are probably going to be doubt and challenges that you must overcome, but you have the capability to find a way around these, always!


We really appreciated Jules answering our questions! We wish her the best for her future and hope her involvement in SOWCoders is helping her in her future endeavors! If you would like to be interviewed or know of someone you think should be interviewed please feel free to email SOWCodersUSChapter@gmail.com . Thanks again Jules for your time!






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success Story: Abhaya Sundar

From the beginning, we've had members support and stick with us throughout the development of our chapter. We've also gained new members along the way. In order to honor some of these members, this in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page