top of page
Search
  • prisinha45

Success Story: Kinsey Wilson

As a continued effort to get to better know some young women interested in coding and share some of our success stories, we interviewed Kinsey Wilson. Kinsey is a rising junior at Hall High School and is a dedicated member of its SOWCoder chapter. Here is how the interview went:


Q: “Tell us about yourself, what are your hobbies, interests, etc.?”

A: "My name is Kinsey, and I am a rising junior in high school. I really enjoy a bit of everything: I am passionate about theatre, I participate in sports, I have many hobbies including crocheting, reading, and photography, and I love learning about new things."


Q: “What challenges have you faced being a woman in the STEM environment?”

A: "Sometimes just being one of the few women in the room is enough to discourage involvement in the STEM environment. With less respect and fewer numbers, women all over struggle with their interests in STEM."


Q: “Why did you decide to join SOWcoders?”

A: “Coming into SOW coders, I knew a few of the people in the club, and just wanted to have fun and explore something new. I quickly realized my enjoyment for coding and computer science, and I now want to continue the club as an active member and coder."


Q: “What do you hope to do with coding in the future? If you don’t plan on doing coding, how has what you learned in the club helped you?”

A: "I can now say that I am very interested in taking one of the many computer science courses that our high school has to offer. I don’t have room in my schedule next year (my junior year), but I am really hoping to take AP Computer Science A during my senior year."


Q: “How has joining the Society of Women coders changed your life and perspective on STEM?”

A: “SOW coders made me realize that there are so many other women out there that want to be involved in STEM, and even if I am the only girl in a room full of men, I still deserve respect, and I can always turn to my sisters in STEM for help."


We really appreciated Kinsey answering our questions! We wish her the best for her future and hope her involvement in SOWCoders is helping her in her future endeavors! If you would like to be interviewed or know of someone you think should be interviewed please feel free to email SOWCodersUSChapter@gmail.com. Thanks again Kinsey for your time!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Success Story: Abhaya Sundar

From the beginning, we've had members support and stick with us throughout the development of our chapter. We've also gained new members along the way. In order to honor some of these members, this in

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page